Snickerdoodles!

As I didn’t think of starting this blog until after I’d baked a few items, I won’t have any photos for the first few posts. I will of course take photos and update the posts the next time I make these goodies, but for now, you’ll have to use your imagination!


I chose Snickerdoodles for my first recipe partially because they had no unusual ingredients, and partially because I’d heard of them Veronica Mars, but had no idea what they were. And what a good choice it turned out to be! I had always imagined them being something like a snickers bar, full of nuts and chocolate and gooey caramel, but I couldn’t have been further from the truth. These simple little treats are a very simple biscuit covered in cinnamon, but surprisingly effective. They are likely to become by go-to baking treat of choice.


Ingredients:

These only required me to get butter, as I had all the other ingredients in already and other than eggs, I’m fairly likely to always have them in. This also makes it a nice cheap recipe. Which is a point, when I’m a bit more organised, I’ll work out a price for each recipe and post that too.


Method:

A very straight forward recipe, cream, mix, fold, ball, coat with cinnamon and pop in the oven. Best done with the Kenwood.


Taste:

Excellent. If you don’t overcook them, you get a light and almost fluffy texture which is really well complemented by the cinnamon coating. If you do overcook them (first batch, didn’t trust the oven!) they come out a little heavier, but still remarkably tasty.


Variations:

For my second batch, I made half with chocolate powder substituted for some of the flour – Chocodoodles. I took those into work for a more balanced set of opinions, and the plain doodles came out on top with a unanimous vote. If I try Chocodoodles again, it will be with melted chocolate instead of cocoa powder, to see if that makes a difference. 


Price: Probably Cheap

Calories per serving: 70

1 Comment

Filed under Nigella

One response to “Snickerdoodles!

  1. I think this is one of the first recipes in this book that I did too. I did think they were like a doughnut in a biscuit, but probably less calories. I was going to suggest you did a calorie count too, and then I thought no – I don’t want to know!

Leave a Reply

