Lemon-Syrup Loaf Cake

This cake reminded me of why I love to bake cakes. I whipped it up in a mad dash while waiting for visitors to arrive, finished it off while they were here and served it up for afternoon tea. And it tasted fab. This is one of those home made cakes that tastes so much better than anything you can buy in the shops.

Ingredients:

Standard cake recipe + lemon. Nothing I had to buy specially, which is always nice.

Method:

Again, a standard cake recipe with the addition of lemons. I left out the syrup that you are meant to pour over, but it tasted so nice without I’m not sure I would bother in future attempts.

There are a couple of variations which I think I will be tempted to try at some point. Probably after I have made a few more things from the book though!

Leave a comment

Filed under Nigella

Leave a Reply

